Introduce Yourself

A fellow blogger suggests in his post that as a blogger you’ve got to introduce yourself. I thought now would be a good time to do that, I’ve had the ability to read and review my first novel of the year, but as of right now am just a few pages into the novel I’m reading now (Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham) so I know it will be a few days before I have a full legitimate posting for ye dear readers.

My name is Laura. I pronounce that “Law-ruh”, but apparently about half the world pronounces it “Lore-uh”. That used to be a big pet peeve of mine and I’d jump on the opportunity to scold anyone saying it “wrong”. Sometime after high school or so I kinda just let that go, though. I’ll answer to Lora, if I have to…but I will silently hate it every time.

I turned 30 last year. I don’t feel 30, though. When I was a little kid a lot of the adults around me were in their 30’s, and they seemed a lot older than I seem now. I still like to eat sugary kid cereal, I still read YA novels, I still like a lot of the movies and cartoons aimed at kids…but I’m also obsessed with horror and dark stories and movies. Go figure.

I’ve been married to my husband for a little over 5 years, though we’ve been together since I was 19. We still don’t have any kids. I know being 30 that window of safely having children is closing on me fast. We do hope “someday” to have them, sometimes time just gets away from us. We do have 2 cats though, and some days when I’m crocheting with my fuzzy blue house robe on and my hair in a frizzy mess pilled on top of my head with two cats flanking me I’m safe knowing at least I’ve secured my spot as a crazy cat lady.

My day job sucks. I work as a subject matter expert for a call center. AKA I get to talk to all the lovely people screaming and cussing for a supervisor. I wont exhaust anymore of my time going into that, though.

I’m a big fan of being a fan of things…if that makes any sense. The first time I knew I loved being a fan was when I was a teenager and completely obsessed with the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Listening to them made me feel like I was in on some sort of secret that only the other fans of them knew about. I saw them in concert twice when I was 16, and almost a decade and a half later I got to see them again a couple of years ago…I totally cried when they came out on stage. My mom used to tell me about this time she saw Paul McCartney live in the early 90s. She said there was a group of older fans near her and they were crying, and I thought that was completely crazy! Well, I know what those Beatles fans were going through now.

Other things I’m completely obsessed with are – Stephen King, The Gilmore Girls, Muse, Harry Potter, The Avengers, Tom Hiddleston, Supernatural, Doctor Who, David Tennant, loose leaf tea, and of course reading, writing and crochet!

I have epilepsy – temporal lobe epilepsy to be exact, anxiety, and almost certainly something wrong with my gallbladder.

That’s basically me in a nutshell.

Once I’m done with Someday, Someday, Maybe I will let you return to your regularly scheduled programming of book reviews and crochet inspired by the book.

hat

Me making a face and a hat I crocheted a few days ago.

2 thoughts on “Introduce Yourself

Leave a Reply

