Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

I have been obsessed with the show Gilmore Girls since I first laid eyes on it. I’m not just throwing the word “obsessed” around lightly here, either. I’m talking an I’ve-actually-tried-to-talk-my-husband-into-moving-to-Connecticut level of obsession here. The fact that I’m going to be 32 in a little over a year and don’t have a well-read 16-year-old daughter, a cool wardrobe, a plucky can-do attitude, a quirky best friend named Sookie, and extremely rich parents that I want nothing to do with, is, well, frankly depressing me thinking about it!

LGSomedaySomedayMaybe

Anyway, back to the book at hand. My husband being the awesome guy that he is bought me this book authored by the Lorelai Gilmore herself, Lauren Graham, as a Christmas gift this past year. I’m going to admit, this isn’t generally my type of go-to book. Had I read the premise without the level of love and dedication that I have for Lauren Graham, I may have skipped over it completely. Normally if there isn’t a wizard, or some off planet battle, or historical vampires, or otherworldly beings, or some bleak future where we’ve all destroyed ourselves, I’m not all that interested. I know I may be glossing over what are probably perfectly wonderful books, something I’d really like to change.

Set in 1995 New York City, Someday, Someday, Maybe is the story of wanna-be actress Franny Banks. As we join Franny in her story, she’s 6 months away from the deadline she’s set herself to actually make it as an actress. If she’s not where she thinks she should be, she’s packing it all up and moving back to her simple life with simple goals and a simple career…and things aren’t looking so hot for her.

I really like the fun, fresh voice of Lauren Graham’s writing. Franny reminds me a lot of myself, she suffers from anxiety and self-doubt that I can totally relate to. The book is also broken up with Franny’s filofax entries, which basically becomes a character all its own. There are even a few passages written out as scripts are, and the has-been film student that I am and constant movie geek, I loved that extra flair!

So I’m here to say even if you find yourself leaning more toward horror, sci-fi, and fantasy like I myself do, give this book a try..someday, someday, maybe?  He-he see what I did there?

Now, for the crochet!

At first I fretted that I wouldn’t be able to crochet anything tangible from the book. The major themes of finding inner strength and courage, scripts, acting, etc didn’t really seem to lend itself to my idea of crocheting something inspired by the book. So I had decided if I couldn’t think of anything from the book itself, I’d crochet a little red jacket like the one on the cover. But, then it happened. I found my inspiration. Just as Franny has given up on herself, no job, no prospects, no love interest, no agent, nothing… she sees a red balloon.

But then I see there is a balloon, a single red balloon floating in front of the taxi, its white string just brushing the windshield, before the wind pulls it past us and it drifts up, up, up, and out of sight.
“You see that?” The cab driver says to my reflection in his rear-view mirror.
“Yeah.”
“How’d it get this far and not go pop?”

-Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

This red balloon, as Franny begins to further reflect, is a metaphor for her life…how did she get this far and not pop? I knew the red balloon was a perfect symbol for this story, and I finally had my crochet inspiration.

someday someday maybe Balloon balloon book

For this, I didn’t have a pattern, I just made it up until it looked semi-balloonish to me.

Read – January 4th – January 18th, 2015
Goodreads Reading Challenge – 2 books down, 48 to go
9gag’s Reading ChallengeA book by a female author.
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

4 thoughts on “Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. Thanks for highlighting this book! I, too, love GIlmore Girls and can feel your pain realizing your life is nothing like Lorelei’s (or in my case Rory’s, since I’ve been more obsessed with her). It’s amazing to hear that Lauren Graham has a book out. I’ll have to pick it up soon and throw it somewhere on my TBR list. Also, that’s a lovely balloon you’ve crocheted. I’ve tried to crochet myself and have basically failed at it, but this makes me want to give it another go. Nice post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much! It’s funny, when I first started watching the Gilmore girls all those years ago I was more along the lines of Rory..I think in the real world her character is something like a year younger than I am. She graduated high school in 2003 and I did in 2002…so the fact that Rory Gilmore is about to be 30 is a little weird to think about…. anyway… but now I’m more Lorelai’s age, at least when the show began. It’s too weird to think about!

      I did start crocheting off and on through the years and threw it down every time. I semi-learned when I was ten.. then in my early 20s I learned the basics of knitting, but when I tried to knit past the basics I’d mess up and get frustrated so I navigated back to crochet. Aspects of it still confuse and frustrate me, but if I put it down and come back to it later I can usually figure it out and have really gotten a lot of enjoyment out of crocheting. Now I don’t know what I’d do with half my free time if I didn’t crochet, and watching TV without something to crochet while doing so?! Forget it! 😀

      I think Lauren Graham is working on a sequel if I’m not mistaken. I hope so because the book ended and I really want to know more about what was coming next.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was a huge fan of the Gilmore Girls. I grew up in CT and it always bothered me that my town wasn’t like Stars Hollow. 😉 Cool book and I love that you crochet something inspired by the story. I think in the arts people give themselves unrealistic deadlines. Could you imagine if a finance major said, I’ll quit in two years if I don’t get to be CEO? Writing, acting, painting, they take years of dedication to the craft and that break in moment can take a while to manifest. And the milestones usually aren’t title changes and salary increases. It’s a lot harder to measure progress there.

    Like

    • Jeeze I don’t know what kind of hole I’ve been in, totally missed this sorry Kourtney!

      I grew up in a small town in Ky probably about the size of Stars Hollow and it and the people were no where near as fun as the Gilmore girls!

      You’re right about deadlines, I think having an abstract goal to grasp to is hard so people try to think up ways to quantify the time spent. It’s silly of you think about it that way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

